# Membership of Committees – Appointment of New Councillor to the Regulation Committee and the Appeals Panel

Lead Officer: Ian Clarke, Assistant Director – Legal & Corporate Services

Contact Details: ian.clarke@southsomerset.gov.uk or (01935) 462184

## 1. Purpose of the Report

To confirm a change to the Regulation Committee and the Appeals Panel appointments following the resignation of Councillors Shane Pledger.

### 2. Public Interest

Each year at their annual meeting, Council agree to appoint Councillors to the various committees and to represent SSDC on outside organisations. This report confirms the wishes of the Conservative group to make an amendment to the Councillors appointed to the Regulation Committee and the Appeals Panel.

#### 3. Recommendation

In accordance with Section 16 (1) Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the duty therein to give effect to the wishes of the political group to which seats on any committee are allocated, the Council confirm that:-

- 1. Councillor Tiffany Osborne be appointed to the Regulation Committee.
- 2. Councillor Neil Bloomfield be appointed to the Appeals Panel.

#### 4. Report

The membership of committees and working groups for 2016/17 was approved at the Annual Council meeting on 19<sup>th</sup> May. Since then, Councillor Shane Pledger, a member of the Conservative group, has resigned as a District Councillor.

The Conservative group have now indicated they would like to appoint Councillors Tiffany Osborne and Neil Bloomfield to the two vacancies created on these committees/panels.

#### 5. Background Papers

Minutes of Council - 19th May 2016